Visualize Your Past

FinalVibe launched one month ago, and what a month it has been. Over the last few weeks, a lot of people have asked how FinalVibe came to be, and it’s been both fun and interesting to trace back my own thoughts to see how the pieces fell into place to get us where we are today. In short, a lot of moments, both big and small, happened over the last ~2 years that helped me put things in perspective - most importantly the passing of time and what I want to do with what I’ve got. My goal is to eventually create a documented step-by-step process that anyone can complete to help them look at aspects of their life from a different perspective, and I want to share what step #1 will be here.

Document Your Life. When it comes to time, one of the best ways to visualize your journey of legacy is to have the ability to visualize your past. One way I personally do this is through a free app called Day One. For the last 1,542 days (~4.2 years), I have uploaded a minimum of two and a maximum of ten photos from the current day without fail. I rarely add supporting text, but if it was a really special day, I’ll write some details as well. What this now allows me to do is look back at what activities I was doing, what meals I was eating, who I was hanging out with, what kind of work I was completing, and how adorable my dogs are. It seems simple, I mean who hasn’t seen a TimeHop show up on your social feeds? But, doing it consistently can be really powerful. There’s something about laying in bed after a day I would deem a success and looking back at a photo from that same day a few years ago when I was in the doctor’s office waiting for news that I thought was going to be bad. It wasn’t, and look what I’ve done since then. It’s a small thing, but it’s an important thing.

There are days when “old Kevin” inspires me today. “I really went to spin class three times that week?” or “I remember that smoothie I used to make. That was delicious and pretty healthy. I’m going to start making that again.”

It’s not necessarily hard to start documenting your life, but staying consistent long enough for you to see the benefits of doing so can be. Find a method that keeps your brain engaged, whether it’s a fancy app, a new notebook, or a private Instagram, and just start. I promise you will be glad you did on day 366 and beyond.

The purpose of FinalVibe is to inspire people to look at their life from a higher perspective than ever before, and then make goals from there. Once you start being intentional with focusing on what moments are worth capturing in your life, you might notice what really matters and what doesn’t. And once you do that, you’re unstoppable.

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

A Teachable Moment

Last week was an exciting one because we were getting a new AC unit installed in the house on Friday morning. As if the old machine knew this, it completely stopped working last Monday, meaning I had a very warm work-from-home week.... Continue →