Super-Power

Super-Power.jpg

While exchanging texts with a great friend and colleague yesterday, he sent me this message and it’s been on my heart since.

If you know my wife, Jacqueline, you know that she is a unique soul and would do anything for anyone. Her support for my crazy dreams and goals really is my super-power, and I hope to never take it for granted.

A few years ago I had the (crazy) idea to get into video game streaming, and I designed a ridiculous over-the-top “office” that would be great for just that. Jacqueline was on-board from the beginning, helping to paint the walls black and mount a 4th monitor above the others. The entire endeavor turned into some pretty great opportunities.

When we started the FinalVibe Podcast, I thought an in-person studio would set us apart. Jacqueline, again, was all-in. We hung up an acoustic curtain to hide the guest bed, took a trip to IKEA for furniture, and built a pretty slick home studio.

Just today, I had the goal of completing a 50-mile bike ride, and I thought it would be cool for this milestone to leave from my driveway and not turn around until I hit that goal. The only problem, of course, is that this plan leaves me stranded in the middle of nowhere. Jacqueline was totally down with the idea, and mapped out exactly where to meet me (Pleasant Green, Missouri) with water and snacks.

I point out these examples to show that her desire to help me accomplish my goals is how I accomplish my goals. And while thinking about this for 3 hours and 38 minutes today, it makes me wonder how I can be her super-power. And how I can be other people’s super-power, too.

Is there a spouse, friend, or co-worker who you can help out in some creative way to give them the power they need to succeed?

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

To Not Wasting This

A crisis is a terrible thing to waste. Paul Romer, Stanford economist Today is Day 70. It has officially been 70 days since I’ve been working from home due to COVID-19. It’s been 70 days since the reality of this started to hit me. It’s... Continue →