A Teachable Moment

117637044_10158749430007930_1985582041790944081_o.jpg

Last week was an exciting one because we were getting a new AC unit installed in the house on Friday morning. As if the old machine knew this, it completely stopped working last Monday, meaning I had a very warm work-from-home week. Friday eventually rolled around and as the group of installers were packing up their things and the cold air started blowing throughout the house (finally), our internet went down. After a call with tech support, I learned that it wasn’t coming back until this coming Thursday.

My initial reaction was to, naturally, freak out. Quite a bit of my life (okay, all of it) revolves around the internet. As the house dropped from 85 to 84 degrees, I was feeling warmer than I had all week, worrying about how I would get things done and what I would do to keep projects moving forward. As I started making contingency plans, it hit me that this was a great moment for me to practice the FinalVibe mindset - to roll with the punches, make the best of the situation at hand, and not complain every time I sit on the couch and remember that we don’t even own a Blu-ray player anymore. During a time when millions of people are collecting unemployment and tens of millions more have seen their life flip upside down, I’m pacing in my basement wondering which coffee shops have indoor seating so I can send some emails.

I want to better control how I respond to moments like this in my life. Too often I will let something that is out of my control, and not actually earth-shattering in any way, ruin day after day until I get back into my groove. But what if my groove is a little more flexible? I think I might be happier person. The last 48 hours have consisted of great conversations with friends and family, reading, spending time outside (70 mile bike ride completed this morning!) and simply making the best of the situation I’m in. The #FinalVibe mindset is a powerful one.

Lastly, huge shout-out to David Reape, FV Member #7, for making this epic 3-foot wide FinalVibe logo for the studio. So dope.

 
2
Kudos
 
2
Kudos

Now read this

5:30 FEBRUARY

And just like that, January 2021 is in the books. The end of the first month of the year is a great time to reflect on what aspects of your routine are working, not working, and what adjustments need to be made to stay on track. I... Continue →