Apple Vision Pro

I am breaking my streak of getting new Apple products at launch by skipping the Vision Pro (for now), but I could not be more bullish on the future of this product line and VR/AR/Spatial/whatever we call it.

I own a Quest, and I understand some of the things featured below are now and have been available for years. Apps like Bigscreen Beyond made me realize the potential of these platforms for the first time. Many people roll their eyes at any thought related to VR today, but I cannot help but think one of these use cases will be worth a few grand to tens of millions of people in the next 2-3 years. I also don’t see how the abilities of this product don’t dramatically change how many people work, relax, and eventually work out and shop.

Learning and skills development: The real magic of VR/AR tech is its ability to transform how we learn and master new skills. Imagine strapping on a headset and sitting at a piano, with your virtual instructor sitting next to you guiding each finger placement and note in real-time. You’re not just watching a tutorial; you’re in it, getting feedback as if a master was right there with you. This isn’t limited to music either. Think about diving deep into mechanics, cooking, or even languages. VR/AR puts you in the room, or better yet, in the workshop, kitchen, or country where what you’re learning is lived daily. It’s about making those “I wish I could do that” moments a reality, offering a hands-on approach that beats any classroom or online course. I truly think what this can do for students who choose to use it will be unlike any technical advantage we have seen to date. My elementary school figured out how to have a few dozen iMac G3s in 1999, and hopefully it doesn’t take long for schools to realize that spatial computing is how, what and where they will be teaching soon.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

When Perspective Hits You

I believe that the concept of FinalVibe - the act of pursuing your ideal legacy - is important for everyone, but I also know that every person will come to this realization when they are ready. A sudden loss of a job, a serious illness,... Continue →